Time – where does it go?

English: Alarm clock

Image via Wikipedia

Palm Coast Neighbors: Tradition of giving | StAugustine.com.  January 7

Christine Speno: Christmas events continue | StAugustine.com.  December  17

Here we are again at the beginning of another new year.  Where has the time gone?  I’ve spent some time thinking about just that – time.  It moves way too fast, and it seems the older we get the faster the time goes. Take me for instance – I haven’t posted my columns from The Record here since early December, and I apologize to my readers if you’ve looked for them here.  I promise to do better in the coming months.  You will find links to the two most recent pieces above or at the end of this post.

Last week I wrote about the wonderful ways that my community gives back with time and resources to help others.  You’ll find a  story shared by Janet Kibrick of Palm Coast about a very special senior event that took place this past holiday season.  Through the colloborative efforts of Home Instead Senior Care® , local Walgreens locations and our giving residents,  many seniors had a brighter season.  The Walgreens stores in Palm Coast generously offered space for trees decorated with “wish lists” of senior residents that were then fulfilled by “Santas” in our community.  Read more in the January 7 column.

Now back to that time thing. 

Like most, a year ago I made some resolutions.  One resolution was to join the Florida Writers’ Association.  Well, it took me a year to do it, but finally on December 31, 2011, I fulfilled that resolution.  Last year I also committed to blogging more.  I did okay with the blogging part – not excellent, but okay.  According to the annual report I received from WordPress, I added 52 new posts to my blog in 2011.  Obviously that averages to a weekly post.  However, it’s been a month since my last post, and that just won’t do.  So once again, I’ll commit to be more devoted to this blog.  since 52 was the magic number last year, I’m going to try to increase that number by 50% to 78 new posts.  Wish me luck.

Time is a mysterious element of our lives.  We are surrounded by ways to track it, like apps, calendars, clocks, Smart Phones, Ipads, desktop or laptop computers, and even just plain old hand-written lists;  And yet, it still slips away.  So what are we to do?  My answer is just to make the most of it.  Surround yourself with as much positive energy as possible.  Whether it’s new goals at work or for your personal life, or spending time with family, reconnecting with old friends or just staying in touch, use each day to its fullest potential.  What are you going to do to make better use of your time in 2012?  I’d love to hear from you!!

Okay, let’s get started!  I’ve got 77 more blog posts to write.  See you next time!!

Palm Coast Neighbors: Tradition of giving | StAugustine.com.  January 7

Christine Speno: Christmas events continue | StAugustine.com.  December  17

6 Comments

Filed under communication

6 responses to “Time – where does it go?

  1. Enjoyed reading your thoughts. I have my Blog Roll or whatever up again. Look forward to getting together. Claudiajustsaying

  2. I love that you reached your goal on the last day of the year!

    • Thanks, Cindy. Better late than never, huh? I also joined the National Resume Writers’ Association and will be working on getting certification as an expert resume writer 🙂 Please visit again!

  3. You’re right, Christine, time definitely seems to move faster the older we get! That’s most impressive that you’re working on being certified as an expert resume writer–I would think there would be a great demand for professional resume writers. Love your blog!

    • Thanks for visiting, Sandra. Will keep you posted on the resume writing. Watch for more helpful posts about resumes here in the coming months. All the best!