Pickled Sweet Pepper Strips – a vegan recipe

Today is the first ever Flagler Beach Vegan Fest. I’m not a vegan myself, but I’m finding myself eating this way more as I’ve been working with a great group of people to help them promote this event.  The excitement has been growing over the past few weeks. This is a passionate group who believe whole-heartedly in their commitment of creating a balance in the world that is the end result of eating vegan-style. Exactly what classifies a recipe as vegan? To be vegan, a recipe must exclude meat, eggs, dairy products and all other animal-derived ingredients. Check out Vegan by Choice for more information.

Bounty from my garden 2011
Photo credit: Words Etc.

My husband and I often eat vegetarian meals and many of those meals and dishes end up being vegan.  What I’ve observed in recent weeks is that by “hanging out” with a few vegans while planning and promoting this event, I’ve started to analyze everything we cook and eat to see if it fits into the “vegan” category.

So it is in that spirit that I make my vegan recipe contribution today.

Communication with the earth by growing your own stuff is a favorite form of communicating for me.  Last year my yellow banana peppers just wouldn’t stop communicating with me!  We were overrun with Datil peppers as well as sweet yellow banana peppers.  The Datils have been turned into an amazing hot sauce, and I also developed a Datil Pepper Relish that has become very popular with friends and neighbors. But the real fun I had last summer was to perfect my version of a sweet pickled banana pepper. I am already anticipating what new creativity this summer’s garden will inspire!

I’ve finally got it down to science so here it is for all the world to see.  And to all my vegan friends in Flagler Beach and all around the area, Happy Vegan Fest Day!!

Christine’s Pickled Sweet Pepper Strips
Photo Credit: Words Etc.

Christine’s Pickled Sweet Pepper Strips

Start with 2 pounds of yellow and red sweet peppers, seeded and cut into 1/4 or 1/2 inch strips or rings (about 4 cups yellow banana and 4 cups of red bell)

Cover peppers with ice water, adding a few cloves of garlic and  1/3 cup pickling salt.  Mix well and allow to stand covered for about 3 hours. Drain the peppers well in a colander.

Pack 4 pint jars with peppers. Be sure to pack the peppers tightly.  Remember they are raw when you pack them and will shrink up a bit from the hot brine.  To each jar add:

½ tsp pickling salt

¼ tsp celery seed

1 tsp mustard seed

1 clove garlic

One Datil pepper or a few slices of jalapeno pepper for spicy jars.  I usually make a mild jar or too for those less adventurous!

Prepare the brine by mixing together:

 2 cups white wine or cider vinegar

1 ½ cup sugar

1 ¼ tsp turmeric

 Bring to boil and simmer 5 minutes.  Pour brine over peppers. Leaving ½ inch headspace. Seal and process 10-15 minutes in boiling water bath. Let jars cool on a towel on counter top. Store the cooled, sealed jars in a cool, dark, dry place for at least 3 weeks before eating the peppers.

Be prepared to make more.  Everyone will love these peppers, and you can tell by the photo that they are beautiful!

Have some recipes that fit into the vegan category?  Please share with me!

12 Comments

Filed under Fun Stuff

12 responses to “Pickled Sweet Pepper Strips – a vegan recipe

  1. mjmarti11

    Aawww… 😦
    Wishing Flagler Beach wasn’t so far for me… I’d definitely go. What a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon. Have Fun! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pickled Sweet Pepper Strips – a vegan recipe | Exploring … | Universal Vegan

  3. Great Christine! Wasn’t the First Flagler Beach Vegan Fest a terrific event??
    So glad that you were part of it. All the exhibitors had terrific comments, and there were so many visitors! We at the BeachHouse Beanery had a terrific day, and were glad to make people aware of our newer vegan and vegetarian options on our menu!

    • Thanks for stopping by. And yes, the Flagler Beach Vegan Fest was fantastic. It was so inspiring to see so many people there inquiring about healthy options. Even one vegan meal a day can make a difference on so many levels!

  4. That looks and sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try it myself. I find that I’ve been drawn more and more towards vegetarian meals myself lately. Or, more “natural” eating in general. The less items listed in the ingredients list, the better.

    I can’t wait to read more of your recipes (and vegetarian journey) if you choose to share!

    • Thanks for your comment, Karen. I hope you try the recipe. My family incorporates more and more vegetarian meals into our lives it seems. I promise to share more 🙂

  5. I try and eat one or more vegetarian meals each week. At my age I’m too set in my ways

    • I know how hard it is to make changes, but just one little change can make a difference. For my husband and I, we’ve made the switch to Vanilla flavored Almond Milk and no longer buy cow’s milk. It gives a great richness of flavor to coffee especially and is so much healthier with 2x the calcium!
      Good luck with trying more vegetarian meals. Be sure to check out my Brown Rice and Mango pilaf that was featured on another post. You can find it under the “Fun Stuff” tab!

  6. Aja

    Sounds yummy. I am not vegan, but I do make a point to eat a few vegetarian and occasionally vegan meals each week. If nothing else, it makes me have to pay more attention to ingredients and I usually end up getting more color in my meals since not having the meat or cheese makes me jazz the meals up a little more.

  7. I enjoy vegan meals occasionally. That vanilla flavored almond milk sounds delicious! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Banana Peppers | Fitness and Healthy Living